Robert W. Kirk Award for Professional Excellence

Robert W. Kirk Award

Robert W. Kirk Award for Professional Excellence

The Robert W. Kirk Award for Professional Excellence provides an avenue for recognition of outstanding achievements and dedicated service to the veterinary profession by ACVIM Diplomates. Presented annually, recipients have outstanding careers in veterinary medicine with national and international recognition for their contributions and service in such activities as clinical medical practice, instruction, research and/or public service. Nominations are accepted annually.

Kirk Award Information

Past Awards

Past Award Recipients

Dr. Bradford Smith, DVM,DACVIM (Large Animal Internal Medicine), 2019 Recipient
Dr. Brad Smith received the award in Phoenix, Arizona.

Mark Peterson, DVM, DACVIM (Small Animal Internal Medicine), 2018 Recipient
Dr. Mark Peterson received the award in Seattle, Washington.

Carolyn Henry, DVM, MS, DACVIM (Oncology), 2017 Recipient
Dr. Carolyn Henry received the award in National Harbour, Maryland.

Sharon Center DVM, DACVIM (Small Animal Internal Medicine), 2016 Recipient
Dr. Sharon Center received the award in Denver.

Tom Divers, DVM, DACVECC, DACVIM (Large Animal Internal Medicine), 2015 Recipient
Dr. Tom Divers received the award in Indiana.

Michael Lappin, DVM, PhD, DACVIM (SAIM), 2014 Recipient
Dr. Michael Lappin of Colorado State University received the award in Nashville.

Virginia Reef, DVM, DACVIM (LAIM), DECVDI, 2013 Recipient
Dr. Virginia Reef of the University of Pennsylvania’s School of Veterinary Medicine (Penn Vet) was the recipient at the 2013 ACVIM Forum in Seattle.