Robert W. Kirk Award for Professional Excellence

The Robert W. Kirk Award for Professional Excellence provides an avenue for recognition of outstanding achievements and dedicated service to the veterinary profession by ACVIM Diplomates. Recipients have outstanding careers in veterinary medicine with national and international recognition for their contributions and service in such activities as clinical medical practice, instruction, research and/or public service. Nominations are accepted annually.

Kirk Award Information
Past Award Recipients

2020 Recipient: Dr. David Twedt

Dr. David Twedt is the Professor of Small Animal Internal Medicine at Colorado State University, Department of Clinical Sciences. He joined the CSU facility in 1978 and has a distinguished career as a professor, mentor, scientist, speaker and professional volunteer. He is known worldwide for discoveries in liver and gastrointestinal disease in dogs and cats; and has developed techniques using endoscopy and laparoscopy to visualize a patient's internal structures. Dr. Twedt is a decorated specialist and prolific author who has received numerous awards.




Dr. Bradford Smith, DVM,DACVIM (Large Animal Internal Medicine)

Dr. Brad Smith received the award in Phoenix,




Mark Peterson, DVM, DACVIM (Small Animal Internal Medicine)

Dr. Mark Peterson received the award in Seattle, Washington.




Carolyn Henry, DVM, MS, DACVIM (Oncology), 2017 Recipient

Dr. Carolyn Henry received the award in National Harbour, Maryland.




Sharon Center DVM, DACVIM (Small Animal Internal Medicine)

Dr. Sharon Center received the award in Denver, Colorado.




Tom Divers, DVM, DACVECC, DACVIM (Large Animal Internal Medicine)

Dr. Tom Divers received the award in Indianapolis, Indiana.




Michael Lappin, DVM, PhD, DACVIM (SAIM), 2014 Recipient

Dr. Michael Lappin of Colorado State University received the award in Nashville, Tennessee.




For more information, please contact


Back To Top