Consensus Statements

Consensus Statements

ACVIM Consensus Statements

Consensus Statements of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine (ACVIM) provide the veterinary community with up-to-date information on the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment of clinically important animal diseases.

The ACVIM Board of Regents oversees selection of relevant topics, identification of panel members with the expertise to draft the statements, and other aspects of assuring the integrity of the process. The statements are derived from evidence-based medicine whenever possible and the panel offers interpretive comments when such evidence is inadequate or contradictory. A draft is prepared by the panel, followed by solicitation of input by the ACVIM membership which may be incorporated into the statement. It is then submitted to the Journal of Veterinary Internal Medicine, where it is edited prior to publication. The authors are solely responsible for the content of the statements.

View Consensus Statements

If you have a topic selection for a consensus statement, please submit here. Suggestions will be reviewed each January.

Consensus Statement on Feline Pancreatitis Panel, December 1, 2020

Overview: 
A panel of 8 experts in the field (5 internists, 1 radiologist, 1 clinical pathologist, and 1 anatomic pathologist), with support from a librarian, was formed to assess and summarize evidence in the peer reviewed literature and complement it with consensus clinical recommendations. There was little literature on etiology and pathogenesis of spontaneous pancreatitis in cats, but there was much in humans, along with some experimental evidence in cats and non-feline species. Most evidence was in the area of diagnosis of pancreatitis in cats, which was summarized carefully. In contrast, there was little evidence on the management of pancreatitis in cats. This webinar summarizes the findings of the consensus group.

REGISTER NOW  

This presentation will:
  1. Summarize the various potential causes of feline pancreatitis and understand proposed pathogenetic mechanisms of pancreatitis in cats.
  2. Describe the various diagnostic modalities that can be employed in order to rule-out or diagnose pancreatitis in a cat.
  3. Establish an evidenced-based management plan for a cat with acute pancreatitis.
  4. Establish an evidence-based management and monitoring plan for a cat with chronic pancreatitis.   


Day and Time:
Tuesday, December 1, 2020 at 5:00 pm PT / 6:00 pm MT / 7:00 pm CT / 8:00 pm ET

This one-hour live webinar will have 3 panelists out of the 8 contributors summarizing our clinical recommendations during this 50-minute presentation, followed by a 10-minute Q&A where you will have an opportunity for comments/questions, which the panel will consider prior to publication.

Presenters:
Marnin A. Forman, DVM, DACVIM (SAIM)

Cornell University Veterinary Specialists

Lorrie Gaschen, DVM, Dr.med.vet., PhD, Dr. habil, DEVCR 

Department of Veterinary Clinical Sciences, School of Veterinary Medicine, Louisiana State University

Joerg M. Steiner, Dr.med.vet., PhD, DACVIM (SAIM), DECVIM-CA, AGAF

Gastrointestinal Laboratory, College of Veterinary Medicine and Biomedical Sciences, Texas A&M University

Moderator: 
Keith Richter DVM, MSEL, DACVIM (SAIM)
Veterinary Specialist, Ethos Veterinary Health

Registration: 
This complimentary webinar is available exclusively to ACVIM and European college members, with limited space to the first 1,000 registrants. Registration is required and will open on Friday, November 20 and will close at 2 pm PT / 5 pm ET on Monday, November 30.

RACE Application Status: 
This program has been approved for 1 hour of live, interactive continuing education credit in jurisdictions which recognize AAVSB RACE-approval.